Apple Photos 101

How To: Share Your iPhone Photos & Videos with a Disappearing Link That Expires Automatically

The way you share a group of photos and videos on your iPhone is pretty simple; just select a few items, then choose a service or platform to send them through. Simplicity isn't always the best option, though, and in this case, there's a better way than letting those files send or upload individually, one by one.

How To: YSK That You Can Mute Live Photos So Nobody Has to Listen to Them

Live Photos are a great way to relive moments beyond a simple still image since you get up to 1.5 seconds of video before and after the shot. Of course, your iPhone doesn't just capture motion during a Live Photo — it also records audio. And that audio portion may not be something you want to share.

How To: Stop Photos from Automatically Creating iCloud Links When Sharing Images & Videos from Your iPhone

If you use iCloud Photos, Apple's iCloud link feature is meant to make sharing multiple photos and videos faster and easier, but it's not as great as you might think. Luckily, there's a way to stop your iPhone from creating them automatically, as long as you're running iOS 13 or later.

How To: Magnify Details in Screenshots & Photos on Your iPhone to Focus Attention on What Matters

Over the last few years, Apple has significantly improved and scaled up your iPhone's ability to edit photos. Using the Markup feature, which was introduced back in iOS 10, you can add doodles, highlights, important text, your signature, and arrows and other objects onto pictures and screenshots. One of the lesser-known tools in Markup lets you zoom into essential details without cropping.

How To: Turn Your Live Photos into Looping or Bouncing GIF-Like Videos That Anyone Can Watch

Live Photos haven't caught on as much as Apple probably would like, but they're far from the gimmick that critics initially claimed they were — and things are only getting better as time moves on. Some aspects of the feature are somewhat hidden, however, and you need to find them to unlock Live Photos' full potential.

How To: iOS 14 Makes It Easier to Turn Albums into Slideshows from the Photos App

A slideshow is a tried-and-true way to show off pictures and videos from your adventures, whether it's a long trip overseas, an extravagant wedding, or a quick hiking trip up a mountain. However, in iOS 13 and under, you could only start a slideshow from a photo or video or choose media individually to include in one. But iOS 14 makes it even easier to do in your iPhone's Photos app.

How To: Play Memory Movies for Any Album on Your iPhone in iOS 14

The Memories feature in Photos is meant to help you rediscover old or forgotten experiences by creating a short slideshow of photos and videos based on locations, dates, and events. It's a fun feature to relive exciting times, but it isn't always perfect because it's generated automatically. It might include incorrect content, but in iOS 14, you can now create your own Memory Movies.

How To: Make Perfect Shapes in Notes, Drawings & Annotations with iOS 14's New Shape Recognition Tool

There's a set of drawing tools that have been available for a long time on the iPhone that helps you create handwritten notes and sketches. It's great when you need a free-form way to capture your ideas, and now it's even better. Apple added shape recognition in iOS 14 so that you can now draw geometrically perfect shapes using finger doodles, giving the older shapes tool a run for its money.

How To: Finally, You Can Hide the 'Hidden' Album from the Photos App on Your iPhone

The "Hidden" album on your iPhone has always had one problem — it was never truly hidden. Since iOS 10, when the feature was introduced in the Photos app, any image or video that you conceal in the private folder could be seen by anyone with access to your unlocked device. Finally, that has changed.

How To: Use This Trick to Quickly Select All Photos & Videos on Your iPhone to Bulk Delete or Share

With high-resolution photos and 4K videos being standard these days, it's no surprise that media hogs most of the storage space for many iPhone users. If that's you, there's always iCloud, but you only get 5 GB free, and a paid 50 GB or 200 GB plan can fill up fast. To save money and reclaim storage, you can just delete content from the Photos app, and there's a trick to doing it faster.

How To: Share Screenshots Faster on Your iPhone Using This Hidden Trick

When you need to share a screenshot on your iPhone right away, you would normally just tap its thumbnail after the shot, then share the picture from there. But that's one too many steps if you don't need to add any markup, crop it, or make other edits. There is a much faster way, however, and it's hidden in plain sight.

How To: Toggle Adjustments in Your iPhone's Photos Editor to Compare Effects Before & After

The Photos app on iPhone has long offered basic editing features for quick edits to pictures, but iOS 13 greatly expanded them and gave the same love to videos. One of the best additions offers the ability to turn off photo and video edits without undoing them, so you can preview how your shots look with or without an effect.

How To: Focus Your iPhone Photos & Videos by Adding a Vignette

If there's one tool at your photo editing disposal to instantly dramatize a picture, it's the vignette. It shades away the corners of a photo, which highlights the center of the image without any effort on your part. In the past, you'd have to look outside the Photos app on your iPhone to achieve such a result, but with iOS 13, a vignette is within immediate grasp.

How To: Convert Multiple Live Photos into 1 Continuous Video on Your iPhone

Live Photos capture the seconds before and after you take a photo, creating a fuller and also unique moment to share with friends and family. Unfortunately, it has been nearly impossible to share Live Photos with non-iPhone users — until now. Thanks to iOS 13, you can easily convert a Live Photo into a video, and even stitch multiple Live Photos together to create one long video.

How To: Stop Videos & Live Photos from Auto-Playing in the Photos App on iOS 13

By default, videos in the Photos app auto-play in several instances on iOS 13, making it a great way to get a quick, extended glimpse when you're browsing. But this isn't always ideal — especially when you're flipping through private or embarrassing videos and other eyes are on your screen. Fortunately, Apple has an easy way to disable this feature.

Prev Page