Apple Arcade actually looks like a refreshing change of pace for subscription services. The platform costs just $4.99 a month and includes access to over 100 unique and exclusive games. That's not to mention the one-month free trial each new user can claim. But know this: you shouldn't cancel that free trial until you're ready to give up Apple Arcade.
Most free trials, whether they last one week or one month, work like this: sign up, provide credit card information, but can cancel at any time. If you cancel before your trial is over, you get to continue to use the service until that time expires, no strings attached. That's not how iOS 13's Apple Arcade works.
- Don't Miss: 200+ New & Exciting iOS 13 Features for iPhone
The second you cancel your free trial for Apple Arcade, you lose access to the service instantly. It doesn't matter if you cancel a day before the trial ends or on your first day using the platform. You cancel, you're done. Reddit user alex_je_alex saw the fine print in the Edit Subscription page for Apple Arcade, which clearly states that your service will end immediately.
While undoubtedly frustrating, this policy is Apple's MO at this point. Both Apple Music and Apple News+ will end service after you cancel your free trial, in the same fashion as Apple Arcade. Before late-2018, you could cancel an Apple Music free trial and still use the service during the whole trial, but Apple switched to the new cancel-and-you're-done policy.
While Apple does warn you before you cancel, it's still a pain, considering the industry norm is to let your trial continue. Of course, you can always sign up for Apple Arcade after your trial expires. You'll just need to provide the $4.99 entry fee for at least one month's worth of gaming.