How To: Disable iOS 11's New Screenshot Thumbnail Previews

Disable iOS 11's New Screenshot Thumbnail Previews

When you take a screenshot on your iPhone in iOS 11, a thumbnail preview appears in the corner for a few seconds. Tapping on it will give you immediate editing and sharing tools, but not everyone digs the convenience.

What can be convenient for you can be obtrusive for others, especially if those others have no desire to edit or share their screenshots right away. If you're in the latter group, then you'll be disappointed to know that Apple has failed to include a way to toggle this new screenshot system on and off.

Hopefully, Apple will include an on/off toggle in a future iOS 11 update, and we will update this guide whenever that happens. But until then, the only way you can "disable" this feature is to either:

  • Ignore the preview thumbnail/s, which will disappear in a few seconds.
  • Swipe left on the preview thumbnail/s to make it (or them) disappear faster.
Letting it disappear on its own (left) vs. swiping left on it immediately (right).

Personally, I like the idea of these screenshot previews and having quick access to edit and/or share them if I want to, but I rarely find myself using them. I still prefer to take the screenshots and then go into the Photos app and AirDrop them to my computer or email them or whatever. I hardly edit them on my iPhone, unless I'm sending a screenshot to a friend or family member that needs some quick help.

I don't think it would be too hard for Apple to include an on/off toggle in the Settings app for this. If enough people have issues with it, it can happen. If you're not digging the screenshot previews, you can submit feedback to Apple about it once iOS 11 is live for everyone.

Cover photo and screenshots by Justin Meyers/Gadget Hacks

Be the First to Comment

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest