News: Apple Just Released iOS 12.2 for iPhone

Apple Just Released iOS 12.2 for iPhone

It's here! Apple just released the latest version of iOS today, Monday, March 25. Version 12.2 has seen six beta releases, spanning the course of fewer than three months. The new update sports 30+ awesome features, including new Animoji, air quality reports in Apple Maps, and AirPlay 2 support for compatible TVs, in addition to a slew of new UI tweaks and redesigns.

Typically, Apple releases new software at 1 p.m. EDT (10 a.m. PDT). However, today was certainly unusual, as Apple held an event to announce Apple News+, Apple Card, Apple TV Channels, Apple TV+, and Apple Arcade services. Apple established on stage that iOS 12.2 — in addition to macOS 10.14.4 — would release at some point during the day and it did just after the event, at 3 p.m. EDT (noon PDT).

If you're a beta tester, you're already familiar with most of the changes in this new release. While devices with Face ID will get new Animoji, all compatible iPhones will see UI tweaks, such as a redesigned on-screen Apple TV remote and Control Center tile; a new "About" page layout, including lowercase "s" and "r" on iPhone XS, XS Max, and XR; and new icons for Screen Mirroring, AirPlay, and News, just to name a few. For a complete list of features, check out our iOS 12.2 roundup.

To download and update your iPhone to iOS 12.2, go to Settings –> General –> Software Update. Once the iOS 12.2 update loads, follow the instructions on the screen to download and install the new software. If you were a beta tester, you will also have to do this since beta 6 was not a GM build.

Cover image and screenshots by Jake Peterson/Gadget Hacks

The Best iOS Tips & Tricks — Delivered Fresh Every Week

Don't miss out!

Be the First to Comment

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest