How To: Show Someone a Photo on Your iPhone Without Them Swiping Though All of Your Pics

Show Someone a Photo on Your iPhone Without Them Swiping Though All of Your Pics

When showing someone a photo on my iPhone, I inevitably get that friend or family member that swipes left or right, trying to sneak a peek at other pictures in my Camera Roll.

It's not that I have a smorgasbord of shocking or defamatory photos, I just feel like I shouldn't have to tell someone to not look through my other pictures unless otherwise instructed.

Anyways, swiping left and right should be left exclusively for Tinder, right?

Now There's a Way to Fight Back

Deep within Apple's mobile operating system is a stock feature that you can use to disable touch on the screen, so that you no longer have to worry about someone sneakily swiping through your Camera Roll.

Step 1: Enable Guided Access

Go to Settings -> General -> Accessibility and scroll down until you find Guided Access. In the Guided Access settings, enable the Guided Access toggle. This setting will allow you to control which features are available in a single application, like the Camera Roll.

Once that's turned on, just go to the app you want to start it on, then triple-click the Home button. If you also have Accessibility Shortcuts enabled, like Zoom or AssistiveTouch, you can toggle on Accessibility Shortcut at the bottom of this page, that way you can still access them while Guided Access is enabled.

Step 2: Configure Guided Access

Now that Guided Access is easily accessible, head over to your Camera Roll and find a picture you want to show someone. Triple-click the Home button and wait for the Guided Access window to pop up.

At the bottom-right of the Guided Access window, select Options. Switch the Touch setting off in order to disable any sort of screen touches or swipes. Select Done and tap Start at the top-right corner.

Now you'll need to enter a passcode, which you'll use later to disable Guided Access. Enter it twice and a short-lived message will then appear saying "Guided Access Started".

Now hand your phone over to your friend or family member and watch them try and swipe left or right to no avail.

Step 3: Disable Guided Access

Once you have your phone back comfortably in your hands, it's time to disable Guided Access. Once again, triple-click the Home button, which will bring up the Enter Passcode screen. Enter the passcode you used earlier, which will then take you to the Guided Access window once again.

Tap End at the top-left corner and a "Guided Access Ended" window will pop up, indicating that the feature is now disabled.

Hopefully this will dissuade your friends and family from trying to look through your photos when handing over your phone. Eventually, you might not even need to enable this feature, conditioning everyone to not be so freaking nosy.

If only.

If you want to share multiple photos to someone at the same time without them scrolling through your more private ones, check out my guide on using Overswipe for iOS, which lets you share up to 5 pics at once for free without giving the other person access to your entire Camera Roll.

Be the First to Comment

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest